An Open Letter to Rey from Star Wars

imadethisblogtofollowyou:

natural–blues:

This is a treasure trove of fedora wearing gentleman (+ Bible at no additional cost!) nerd-whining oh my god

Here’s some highlights:

as a sworn gentleman, I’m loath to cause you any pain or embarrassment.
In fact, if I may be so bold, I’d like to save you from pain or
embarrassment.

I feel a bit like it’s my job to tell you your slip is showing. Or like
I’m one of those knights in those paintings where the knight is
rescuing the, uh, rather unclothed lady who is tied to a tree. True
chivalry demands action in both those cases, but you can’t do it without
causing the lady in question a little of the old p. and e.

in any case, it’s going to seem like I’m being hard on you all, but I’m
only doing it because I care about you. And I hope if you read through
to the end you’ll see that I’m actually being much harder on myself and
other men.


I know the whole world is ladling on the adoration for your brave
contributions to modern womanhood. However, you are behaving, all of
you, in ways that do not befit your sex or glorify God.
Frankly, and I’m
sorry to have to say this, I really am, many of you look ridiculous.
Your friends and family and fans may not laugh at you. But the angels do
and history will.
What you’re doing might be good politics (of a sort),
but it’s bad biology, bad theology, and bad storytelling. It lies about
who you are as a woman and how God made you. And it makes for lousy
movies and TV.

It’s just so sad. I wish every one of the ladies who played y’all had
a father or a husband who loved them enough to tell them they weren’t
allowed to do what they did. If saying that makes me a monster, okay,
I’m a monster.

Because I need all you fictional ladies to help me out. Because I
suck. I’m passive. I’m weak. I don’t need more excuses. What I need is
something to fight for, someone to fight for, someone to protect. If you
rob me of that, you rob me of my dignity as a man.

Get used to the sound of women’s derisive laughter, sir, it’s well deserved in your case.

Please use this link if you want to read the article without giving the hosting site additional hits! 🙂

Few things make me happier that I decided mainstream Christianity wasn’t for me than having some fedora-wearing dudebro try to beat me back into a Woman’s Proper Place™ with a Bible. 

Screw this guy and all his “concerned” brethren!

HOOOLY SHIT

@urulokid

pls react when u can.

An Open Letter to Rey from Star Wars

Leave a Reply

